Background Advertisement
Login| Register

God’s Not Dead

Have you seen this film? Enjoyed it? Disliked it? Take a second and rate it! →
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.3/5 (3 votes cast)

CFDb Review:

An overwhelmingly, powerful, thought provoking film. We wish everyone in the world would go see this film. CFDb Movie Review.

God’s Not Dead

Film Description:

Present-day college freshman and devout Christian, Josh Wheaton (Shane Harper), finds his faith challenged on his first day of Philosophy class by the dogmatic and argumentative Professor Radisson (Kevin Sorbo). Radisson begins class by informing students that they will need to disavow, in writing, the existence of God on that first day, or face a failing grade. As other students in the class begin scribbling the words “God Is Dead” on pieces of paper as instructed, Josh find himself at a crossroads, having to choose between his faith and his future.

Josh offers a nervous refusal, provoking an irate reaction from his smug professor. Radisson assigns him a daunting task: if Josh will not admit that “God Is Dead,” he must prove God’s existence by presenting well-researched, intellectual arguments and evidence over the course of the semester, and engage Radisson in a head-to-head debate in front of the class.

If Josh fails to convince his classmates of God’s existence, he will fail the course and hinder his lofty academic goals. With almost no one in his corner, Josh wonders if he can really fight for what he believes. Can he actually prove the existence of God? Wouldn’t it just be easier just to write “God Is Dead” and put the whole incident behind him? GOD’S NOT DEAD weaves together multiple stories of faith, doubt and disbelief, culminating in a dramatic call to action.

The film will educate, entertain, and inspire moviegoers to explore what they really believe about God, igniting important conversations and life-changing decisions.

Release Date: (DVD/Blu-ray) August 5, 2014

Check out the Free Resources

Some Other Films You Might Be Interested In:

From: Pure Flix Entertainment

Box Office/DVD/Blu-ray Sales:

Budget: Around $2,000,000

Opening Weekend: $9,244,641 (USA) (21 March 2014)

Gross: $60,753,735 (USA) (1 August 2014)


God's Not Dead Movie DVD/Blu-ray - Pure Flix Kevin Sorbo - CFDb

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Banner

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 10

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 11

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 12

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 13

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 14

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 15

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 16

God's Not Dead Christian Movie DVD Screenshot 17

Film Cast

  • David A.R. White … Reverend Dave
  • Benjamin Ochieng … Reverend Jude
  • Shane Harper … Josh Weaton
  • Lisa Arnold … June Wheaton
  • Lisa Hampton … Actress
  • Shawn M. Richardz … Nurse
  • Wendy Miklovic … Caregiver Nurse
  • Taylor Roppolo … Another Student
  • Dean Cain … Mark
  • Kevin Sorbo … Professor Radisson
  • Jesse Yarborough … Professor/Patron
  • Hadeel Sittu … Ayisha
  • Shauna Rappold … Second Guest
  • Renee Pezzotta … Secretary
  • Paul Kwo … Martin Yip
  • Jesse Wang … Martin’s Father
  • Alex Aristidis … Fahid

Film Company Contact Details

Company: Pure Flix Entertainment Representative:
Phone: 480-991-2258 Fax: 480-473-9811
Email: Contact Address: Scottsdale, Arizona

Film Details

 

God’s Not Dead (2014) Movie

 

Duration: | Release Date: March 21, 2014 | MPAA Rating: PG |
Watch Trailer | Cover Image

Present-day college freshman and devout Christian, Josh Wheaton (Shane Harper), finds his faith challenged on his first day of Philosophy class by the dogmatic and argumentative Professor Radisson (Kevin Sorbo). Radisson begins class by informing students that they will need to disavow, in writing, the existence of God on that first day, or face a failing grade. As other students in the class begin scribbling the words “God Is Dead” on pieces of paper as instructed, Josh find himself at a crossroads, having to choose between his faith and his future.

Director:

Harold Cronk

Writers:

Cary Solomon, Chuck Konzelman, Hunter Dennis

Stars:

Kevin Sorbo, Dean Cain, Lisa Arnold, Shane Harper, Benjamin Ochieng, David A.R. White, Newsboys

Genre:
Drama, Creation vs. Evolution

God's Not Dead, 4.3 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

» You May Also Like These Suggested Films «

125 Comments

Add a Comment
  1. Cindy Polson says
    16 November 12, 11:13pm

    Praise God for this movie!

  2. Juliet says
    02 May 13, 10:59pm

    Remembering professors from my college days, I wish I could have given arguments to them like this. Looking forward to seeing this movie especially after watching the newsboys in concert. Love the song.

  3. Ann says
    17 July 13, 10:42pm

    I can’t wait to see this! This looks AMAZING :) I love Kevin Sorbo and his work is always excellent so i am delighted for this! YAY

  4. Beth says
    09 August 13, 2:20pm

    Woo Jesus! Does this really come out in November of this year? I went to see Newsboys a few months back, and got so pumped when they showed the preview for this — people who may have never heard the word of God before will hear about His love…. we give Him the highest praise :)

  5. Annelie says
    09 August 13, 2:30pm

    As far as we know it’s still November.

    CFDb

  6. 30 August 13, 3:39pm

    I would like to buy this movie, how much is it. we teach a recovery program and I like to show movies like this one from time to time. please get back to me. God Bless

  7. Annelie says
    30 August 13, 3:42pm

    This hasn’t been released yet – you could contact by e-mail the company who made the film to find out more – info@pureflix.com – I’m not sure if they
    are doing any pre-church showings or screenings.

    CFDb

  8. Sherrie says
    17 September 13, 4:05pm

    I can hardly wait to see this movie! What a Blessing this will be. I also had a professor with this sad mindset-I Praise God that I knew better!!

  9. Joani says
    21 September 13, 5:51pm

    I cannot locate the God’s Not Dead video of lead singer sitting in a park, glancing around, then keys in on someone reading the newspaper w/big bold headline that says, “God Is a Myth.” Each individual bandmember is similarly involved in handling statements like “if God is love why do so many bad things happen?” They answer these questions thru feedback & their song begins. However, when I returned to this site I found this particular version deleted. If purposely deleted to promote the upcoming film then I understand; however, if it is b/c the enemy finds it too powerful to remain on youtube then someone needs to closely follow this video so it can quickly be reinstalled. It is a powerful song & this video is priceless – I have used it countless times w/young people as a tool to introduce them to God. Thank you Newsboys!

  10. Annelie says
    23 September 13, 9:53am

    I would try contacting the film company directly – there is a link towards the top of the film page under film websites

    cfdb

  11. Kosette says
    04 October 13, 10:52pm

    i can’t wait to see this movie.. :))
    i’m so very excited… !!!
    To God be the Glory!! :)

  12. C says
    23 October 13, 9:17pm

    does anyone know where this was filmed?

  13. C says
    23 October 13, 9:30pm

    Louisiana?

  14. Helen says
    24 October 13, 5:11am

    I can’t think of a better time for a movie like this to come out in a world that is sinking in despair. Thank you Jesus

  15. MJ says
    24 October 13, 7:04am

    This looks so good! I can’t wait.
    Thank God for movies like this we need many more.
    Spread the Word!

  16. Emily says
    24 October 13, 3:24pm

    YES YES YES TIMES A MILLION! SO pumped for this movie! Praise Jesus! :)

  17. Donna says
    25 October 13, 5:22pm

    This preview really makes me want to watch this film. When will it be in theatres in Tucson, Arizona?

  18. Andrew Diaz says
    26 October 13, 9:05am

    This country needs a lot more movies like this. I had heard the Willie Robertson of Duck Dynasty is promoting this film. I love and respect all the duck dynasty members who stand up for what all us Christians believe and producing a Christian movie that should remind people in this country that God is not Dead he lives in all that is breathing on this earth every day that the sun comes up. Christians you know that what I am taking about. Non believers you better find it out before its to late!!!!!!! Because if you don’t think that God is REAL and can stop that sun from coming up every day then I hate it for you on Judgement day. God Bless

  19. Pearlie says
    26 October 13, 6:58pm

    I GOT CHILL BUMPS WATCHING PREVIEW! Absolutely can’t wait for the movie! Thank God for people making and supporting this film. It an awesome message to Hollywood. I pray that it will be in great demand as a statement for more Christian and family movies. So many movies and video games are negative,evil and violent nature. It’s no wonder people act out the way they do and so much crime and misery in the world. THANK YOU!

  20. Brenda says
    26 October 13, 7:40pm

    In a time of so much heartache and doubt combined with confusion this movie is right on time..

  21. Annelie says
    27 October 13, 11:11am

    Spring, 2014 is the latest for the theater release.

    CFDb

  22. Jack Smith says
    13 November 13, 2:07pm

    Is it possible to buy the DVD early?

  23. Annelie says
    13 November 13, 2:53pm

    Contact Pureflix – info@pureflix.com – it may be possible for a special showing.

    CFDb

  24. Elizabeth Rotenberg says
    30 November 13, 9:31am

    What character does Dean Cain play. He wasn’t even listed as a character…funny.

  25. 01 December 13, 10:08am

    […] 2 -God’s Not Dead […]

  26. Annelie says
    01 December 13, 10:39am

    Mark – just added that – we had the old list – it may need to be updated again before it comes out.

    CFDb

  27. megan tomlin says
    23 December 13, 9:13pm

    So excited for this movie! Hoping my local theatre the roxy in dickson tn will show it if not i will drive hours out of the way! I love that yal are doing this! Being a 19 year old college student i hope this will speak to young adults like me. I am going to start saving now to pay for tickets for the people i will b begging to go with me. This looks like a great way to show others my Savior! :) thank u so much praise the Lord!

  28. Don A. says
    04 January 14, 11:11am

    Hi, Don from NH here, we do not get a lot of Christian Movies that come around in this part of the country … anyone seen a web page that says where to movie is showing per state or the like?

  29. Annelie says
    05 January 14, 10:02am

    If you are looking for theatrical films – here is a link to the page: http://www.christianfilmdatabase.com/new-christian-movies-upcoming-christian-movies/?MonthYearFilter=in-theaters – it is not listed by state but by film and you would have to click through to see where the films are playing. A lot of the Christian films are limited showings. Sorry more aren’t showing your way.

    CFDb

  30. plmedici says
    09 January 14, 2:13pm

    I went to college and the people who passed judgement on me weren’t snobby atheists. They were self-righteous Christian youth groupers who told me I was going to hell for reading and learning.

    How are Christians the persecuted in that scenario?

    Any Christian worth his/her salt knows that judgement is reserved for God and God alone. And yet, some of the most judgemental people I have ever met in my life have always been Christians.

    They’ve said this world is sinking in despair. They’ve said that decadent ways are the culprit. Maybe their lack of civility and grace is the culprit. Maybe their lack of faith and trust in human beings is the culprit. Would Jesus have reacted with fear to people who didn’t share his mindset? No. He would’ve extended a hand.

    Please don’t support this movie or its message. It would be like a slap in the face of the good people (Christian and not) all around you fighting to make the world a better place.

  31. Annelie says
    09 January 14, 3:29pm

    This hasn’t come out yet, where did you watch it? I do agree about some Christians being very judgmental. I went to a college that was just like that. Very sad, not much love there. We haven’t seen the film yet but will watch it in February.

    The Bible does talk about true persecution vs. being persecuted for wrong behavior. VERY sorry you went through that experience. I have a lot of friends who did. Not all Christians are not all like that, thankfully.

    CFDb

  32. Brinni Hair says
    13 January 14, 10:20am

    Hi, my name is Brinni Hair. I am a sophomore and I can’t wait for this movie to come out! I’m going to watch it the first night it comes out. I would truly support this movie. Because I know that my God is ALIVE. I trust in is word and his plans. I will be going off to college very soon and I think this movie will help prepare many seniors, and more, for college. I know this movie is coming to Shawnee but I hope it comes to Seminole, Oklahoma very soon. Everyone should see this movie, I think. So excited to see this movie!!!!!!!

  33. April bell says
    14 January 14, 2:46pm

    Do u know if this movie will be for sale near august. Our church is holding a movie on the lawn community event and I would so love to have people see this movie. So inspirational. This would be so great for teenagers and college students to see. Would this be possible?

  34. Annelie says
    15 January 14, 8:40am

    You can contact Pure Flix to find out – you may be able to rent or do a screener showing. 480-991-2258

    CFDb

  35. 02 February 14, 9:39am

    […] 3 – God’s Not Dead […]

  36. Lu says
    04 February 14, 10:43am

    I’ve emailed a link to the trailer for this movie to everyone! Thanks for making this movie. I pray that we make this a box office hit so that Hollywood will understand what type of “entertainment” we are truly looking for. God Bless You.

  37. Valinda says
    19 February 14, 5:00pm

    I am excited, I want my youth to watch this, along with my city. Looking forward to purchasing it in March. Keep up the announcing of our Heavenly Father, GOD IS NOT DEAD! HALLELUJAH!!!!

  38. CFDb says
    20 February 14, 5:22am

    This is a SUPER Film, everyone needs to see this one, a powerful message!

  39. SHeila Sarno says
    20 February 14, 6:15am

    My friends and I are REALLY looking forward to seeing this movie! We’re also looking forward to seeing “Son of God”. I pray that “God’s Not Dead” starts showing in more than the two theaters it’s playing in around here. We are not the “frozen chosen” anymore here in New England! Revival is coming soon to the world! Yeah Jesus!!!!!

  40. Daniel says
    22 February 14, 2:47pm

    ill start off by saying i am a christian myself and has high hopes for this movie. but after reading reviews i cannot recommend this movie for anything more than enjoyment. my fear is people will use the arguments against atheism presented in this movie and will completely get shot down by any person with even a little knowledge about what they believe. the topics the student chose were all good topics but his answers were old and completely wrong.also the movie very unrealistic because what happens would probably never happen in real life. in the end its ok to see the movie and i will see it myself, just dont hope to learn that it will convert anyone or give you anything to say to an atheist. one last thing that is very important, dont try to stand up for this movie either, it will only make Christians look stupid for believing this.

  41. Annelie says
    23 February 14, 7:41am

    Very sorry to hear you say this – it was a powerful movie – it sounds like you are just going off the reviews. It led to a change in my life and I believe it will for others as well.

    CFDb

  42. gotbruce says
    24 February 14, 3:08pm

    I saw the trailer. It creates the impression that a philosophy professor at a secular university can be expected to promote atheism or that the question of God’s existence is a major topic of discussion in an introduction to philosophy course. Neither impression is true. In fact the trailer portrays a propagandistic caricature of academia. The climactic moment when Josh rudely and publicly confronts his philosophy professor in class with the shouted demand to know why he hates God is a melodramatic absurdity that would rightly get any student suspended or expelled. Atheists do not “hate God” they clearly do not believe there is a God to hate. The “atheists hate god” assumption is a convenient Christian slur and a diversion from the reality that atheists simply don’t find sufficient evidence for belief in a God. Furthermore Josh’s glib assertion that his professor knows there is convincing scientific evidence to prove God’s existence is another absurdity and blatant lie. If there were convincing scientific evidence for a God the 90%+ majority of the members of the American Academy of Sciences – our nation’s top scientists – who self report being atheists or agnostics would not or could not be the case. This movie is outright propaganda. It asserts blatant, deliberate, and hate filled lies about the arguments and evidence for God’s existence and the academic experience at a public university. The irony of such outrageous Christian deceit should not be lost on the Christian community. This movie provides concrete weight and credibility to Chris Roda’s famous book “Liars for Jesus”.

  43. Annelie says
    24 February 14, 3:27pm

    You would have to see the movie to see why he said that and of course it is a movie and I have yet to see a movie that is 100% true to life, it’s purpose is to make your think or bring you entertainment. For the Christian it is also to place ideas out there to spark people’s interest.

    There are some compelling arguments during the film for both sides. Again, I’m sorry you feel this way, it truly is a good movie.

    CFDb

  44. kyra says
    24 February 14, 3:30pm

    I can’t wait for this to come out I have been praying that they make a movie like this and they are now I love god and I can’t wait to see this

  45. 25 February 14, 6:00am

    […] God’s Not Dead […]

  46. John Weaver says
    07 March 14, 1:00pm

    I CAN’T WAIT!!!!!!

  47. CFDb says
    08 March 14, 2:01pm

    A Must See film for the whole family!

  48. Peggy says
    15 March 14, 7:17am

    Gotbruce,
    I know first hand that there are philosophy classes out there that promote: God doesn’t exist.

  49. Chris MacKay says
    15 March 14, 10:53am

    IS THIS MOVIE OPENING IN CANADA AS WELL?

    I have looked everywhere for an answer, but to no avail.

    If someone could respond, it would be greatly appreciated!!

    Chris

  50. Annelie says
    16 March 14, 6:28am

    You can e-mail pureflix – info@pureflix.com

    CFDb

  51. sonshinegirl says
    17 March 14, 1:04pm

    It is March 17, 2014. This movie opens in theaters this coming Friday, so why is it I cannot find a theater that is showing it? The closest one is an hour away, and when I clicked to see the showtimes, it says they are unavailable! How can I watch the movie when I can’t even find a theater to go to, that has showtimes. SAD that it isn’t shown all over. (And I was so pumped to watch it. Now just very disappointed. I guess I’ll have to settle for a DVD)

  52. Annelie says
    17 March 14, 4:43pm

    Sorry about that – double check on Thursday to make sure it didn’t get to your area. That must be disappointing.

    CFDb

  53. John says
    17 March 14, 7:59pm

    Awesome love God love people

  54. Cat says
    20 March 14, 11:50am

    Just saw it last night. AWESOME!!!!

    Made us laugh. Made me cry. Gave us goosebumps. Made us angry. Some of the audience cheered during certain spots and the entire audience applauded at the end. Everything you could want in all-around, good quality movie.

    For our demographic: We are in our 40s. He is covered in tattoos; me body piercings. We attend Sanctuary Church in Westminster, California (mysanctuarychurch.com) a “Real Church For Real People”.

  55. Melissa says
    20 March 14, 8:59pm

    I live in BC Canada, is this movie going to be in theaters here? I have been looking (since its supposed to be released tomorrow) but I cant find it playing anywhere. :(

  56. CFDb says
    21 March 14, 4:51am

    Sorry, I wish it were in more theaters, sometimes if the film does well, they add it to more theaters, let’s pray yours is one. :)

  57. Kim says
    21 March 14, 11:56am

    Where can we buy this movie since its not available to view in theaters here in Canada? Id really like to get this DVD!

  58. CFDb says
    21 March 14, 4:59pm

    It will take sometime before it’s out on DVD, but I agree, you and everyone else needs to see this in Canada! :)

  59. Daniel says
    21 March 14, 9:40pm

    Awesome Movie! Loved it! Goosebumps, tears and joy… the audience clapped at times, as was mentioned before. :) Couldn’t ask for more. But one thing, the Starplex Cinema 16 in Corpus Christi, Tx. played the movie in mono, not stereo or surround. I asked the attendant why was the movie sounded so “plain”… he responded that it was made that way. Not sure if this was true. :( I can’t find anything online about the movies’ audio.

  60. Reginald says
    22 March 14, 3:43am

    It seemed like a Hollywood A-movie and yet a Christian movie. Well-acted, produced and directed per normal Hollywood standards, I thought. Engaging from start to finish. I was not fidgety in my seat.

    The movie was not just the debate. There was drama. If you are a father or daughter, especially from an Asian culture, and even if you are of Western origin, there is a moment in the movie when you will be moved with a surge of simultaneous emotions (intense sadness, compassion, suspense, hope, etc.), so much so that there is lump in my throat and tears in my eyes as I write this. I can still see the torment on the father’s face (an actor whom I have never seen before) and the daughter’s anguish.

    I would see this movie again if only to see that part again.

    The debate is only about 20-25 percent of the movie. There is a bunch of other situations involving relationships, conflicts and life choices we all make, all smoothly and engagingly woven into the main storyline that moves at a very good pace.

    For Christians in the habit of watching faith programs, studying the Bible, reading faith books and regularly attending church and Sunday school there won’t be much new in the debate. Nominal Christians and non-Christians who are intellectually honest will find the debate interesting, enlightening, even persuasive, and a couple of unexpected twists in the story captivating.

    I had never heard a particular Steven Hawking assertion (not mentioning it here because I don’t want to spoil the movie for you) which the Christian student uses in the debate. There may be things like that many may not have read or heard before.

    What should have struck me long before the movie is how atheists and progressives tend to fast-talk their arguments (apparently to impress the common man with their intellectual superiority by attempting to prevent the man’s brain from catching up with what they are saying) while believers and conservatives tend to be slow and deliberative in what they say because they want people to truly understand what they are writing and saying.

    Reminds me of a math major roommate I had in the Army who sent a girl a letter with the stamp deliberately affixed to the envelope upside down. He explained to me that the upside down stamp usually is a coded or subconscious message that the sender has romantic interest in the receiver. When the girl took the bait he went through this [faulty] probability reasoning to impress her, “proving” that the stamp was upside down merely by dumb chance.

    I believe it will be well worth the time and money you spend on this movie. I hope you won’t miss it. If you are a Christian it will help you help others. If you are not a Christian I believe it will indeed entertain you at a minimum or change your life in a way you now think is impossible.

  61. CFDb says
    22 March 14, 8:09am

    I don’t think that would ever be true, that would be a mistake. I’m guessing he was just covering for their mistake? It was just fine when we say it! :)

    But the movie was so good, that you all enjoyed it anyway, that is a GREAT statement!

  62. CFDb says
    22 March 14, 9:49am

    Thanks for the GREAT Review, we will share with others if that’s ok. :)

  63. Sherri says
    22 March 14, 4:18pm

    What a perfect example of a Christian standing up for God! I pray that God gives me that kind of courage in this ungodly world. a must see movie

  64. 24 March 14, 2:35am

    When is this movie coming to the UK?

  65. Annelie says
    24 March 14, 7:39am

    Here is a link to the page:
    http://www.godsnotdeadthemovie.com/buyout

    You can message them through FB or TW and find out about the UK and how you can get the movie there too.

    CFDb

  66. 24 March 14, 11:15am

    […] God’s Not Dead – PureFlix, Releases 3/21/14 […]

  67. Tony Duffy says
    24 March 14, 5:46pm

    This movie is thought-provoking for people who struggle with the existence of the Almighty….

    I love GOD with all my heart & soul that HE gave me at my birth!!!!!!!!!!!!

  68. Christina says
    25 March 14, 5:11am

    This movie was phenomenal! I laughed, I cried, and I truly was blessed by this movie. Thank your for producing this film.

  69. Linda Guisinger says
    25 March 14, 6:21am

    Wow! What a movie. I hope they have several more like this one to come out soon.

  70. angie says
    25 March 14, 11:19am

    I lived in Toronto, Ontario , Canada and I can’t find this movie on our theaters here. My family would like to watch the movie so please advise when is the film showing in Toronto. Thanks.

  71. Annelie says
    25 March 14, 2:05pm

    Try e-mailing the company directly at info@pureflix.com.

    CFDb

  72. Em A Lee says
    25 March 14, 8:54pm

    The sad truth for 99.9999….% of Agnostics, Atheists, Scientists and whatever else is out there is that they have never read the Word and asked God into their lives with a completely honest open invitation. And when they sit and superficially ask God to “show himself” and they don’t see or hear anything they gleefully exclaim “See, I told you He is not real.” They refuse to continue reading, seeking, knocking and asking for God to show them His Way and eventually give up. IF they would continue reading and speaking with God, the door to understanding would open. Waiting patiently for the still soft voice of God to reveal itself…whispering into our heart is a part of maturing as a Christian. God’s reveals more and more of Himself to those who believe and diligently see Him. Non-believers want proof but can’t get past their disbelief long enough to wait for it to show up.

  73. Jack says
    25 March 14, 11:21pm

    As a christian, I was initially excited for a movie that effectively supported God. What this film is seems anything but an adequate defense of God. It is a stretch to call Gods Not Dead a movie, but rather a close to two hour propaganda film. Every other walk of life except for evangelical Christianity is chastised throughout the course of the plot. According to the depictions given in the film, Muslims are a close minded and cruel people who abuse their own family at the first sign of any sort of straying from their fundamentalist beliefs, and atheists (those who simply do not BELIEVE in a God) are constantly bitter and cold as a result of not having God in their lives. This film enforces blatantly untrue stereotypes and reflects poorly on Christianity as a whole with its close-mindedness and disrespect to others. Matthew 11:29 call us to “Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” This film is anything but gentle, criticizing and almost mocking viewpoints other than that of the producers. Please, please do not blindly fall in love with this film because it is in support of God. See the fact that this film promotes contempt for other ways of life not a love for God. See that this film is a travesty.

  74. TEF says
    27 March 14, 10:28am

    My wife and I just watched this movie last night. We Loved it! I have read nothing but bad reviews online but listen, if you are a born again believer who has had any exposure to our liberal college system, you will absolutely love this movie. I suppose one could ramble on about the thin subplots but remember, this is a budget Christian movie, not a 100 million dollar Hollywood production. We thought this film and Kevin Sorbos other movie called “What If” were two of the very best Christian movies we have ever seen.
    My wife and I are telling our friends and family who are believers that this is a must see film. We pray it is a good witness to non believers as well.

  75. 27 March 14, 10:54am

    I saw this movie last night.I thought it was a great must see for our times. A young college who stood up for what he believed in that there is a God and He is alive and well It show courage and him being filled with God’s love and strength to persevere no matter who or what stood in his way. A great victory, and Gods Not Dead!

  76. Rick says
    28 March 14, 6:25pm

    Best movie of the decade! Everyone should see this.

  77. Dee says
    29 March 14, 1:17am

    I’ve seen this movie twice. It is powerful and moving on so many different emotional levels. The sub plots are just as engaging as the main plot. I’ve read mixed reviews, seems you either hate it or love it. What I love about it is it’s boldness. I do not agree that it comes across judgemental. Having worked in Colleges I have personally met atheists and agnostics who are acurately presented by Professors Raddison’s character. I was often ridiculed for my faith and belief and looked on as less than intelligent and stupid for believing in God. This movie challenges us all to stand up for our faith and to speak out. Interesting to note that many of the philosophers, scientists and genius minds once believed in God and like Halking were theists and then became atheists later – perhaps because of trials that they believed God didn’t answer in their own personal lives. Interesting that Einstein believed in God yet somehow atheist don’t like to mention that. The fact of the matter is, God does reveal Himself and has throughout the ages – it’s called “general revelation” one cannot look at the workd and universe and not see the wonder and glory of God’s intricate creation. We are being asked by atheists to believe that somehow life was spontaneous in all it’s diversity and intricacies. It’s like believing that if we took a working computer a part and placed all the pieces in a box and shook it up enough times that some how it would all come together and work perfectly. See the movie it will challenge you and move you to speak out. God Bless

  78. Jennifer Kennedy says
    29 March 14, 9:32pm

    When will it be showing in Australia? So excited cant wait Praise God

  79. Annelie says
    30 March 14, 7:51am

    You can call and find out – 480-991-2258 or you can e-mail them – their contact information is within the movie page.

    CFDb

  80. Joyce says
    30 March 14, 3:50pm

    Just saw the film. It was great. Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! for bringing so many GOD movies to the forefront at Easter time. Sitting in a FULL movie theatre was a great feeling, and the movie has been out for several days now. Believe there were more people watching this movie then “NOAH”. Praise be to GOD. GOD IS NOT DEAD!!!! Thanks again.

  81. Don says
    30 March 14, 5:11pm

    I just saw the movie and it was EXCELLENT. One of the best christian movies I have ever seen. The movie deals with our lives on many different levels. The different scenarios going on every role I see play out in the lives of so many people I know. The same challenges depicted in the movie I run into on a day to day basis, very contemporary.

  82. 30 March 14, 6:31pm

    […] To learn more about this film, check out its entry at the Christian Film Database […]

  83. Dee says
    31 March 14, 12:36am

    The impact this movie is having in peoples lives is amazing. Our pastor worked with the theater manager to bring it to our area because it was only showing in the bigger cities. Our church had to buy all the tickets for two day showings and we sold them all. There was so much positive reaction that the theater kept it for over 2 more weeks and they may even hold it over for more because word of mouth is creating more interest. The movie Son of God and Noah are both showing but not having near as much impact as this one is. Sadly I hear, that in the movie Noah, the name of God is not even mentioned. This is what happens when secular studios try to make christian based movies, they change the truth. For those still on the fence about seeing God is NOT Dead, go and take others with you. In some areas it seems to be creating a “revival” atmosphere and especially young people are being challenged to speak out for their faith. I’ve heard that many are coming to Christ as a result – just goes to show how God uses all things for good.

  84. annamarie says
    31 March 14, 7:45am

    hey I just love this movie I has really touched my life and it has made an impact on my life and me and my church are doing something like this for and in front of our church and I want to be just like shane harper (josh wheaton) who stands up believes in and I just love THE LORD

    GOD’S NOT DEAD!!!!!!!!!

  85. maryelizabeth says
    01 April 14, 8:30am

    This movie is amazing. I’m speaking from the point of view of a Christian teenager in the world today. This movie inspires teens and Christians alike that you don’t have to be afraid to stand up for God. Its an amazing movie….. now if I can just see the ending without the power going out at the movies haha. Thank God for movies like this.

  86. 03 April 14, 9:55am

    I must testify to a miracle that I witnessed today. On Sunday we took the youth group to the movies to see #Godsnotdead and at the end they said to send out a text to everyone in your contacts that said GOD’S NOT DEAD! I have some contacts in my phone that aren’t mine but I decided to send the message to all of them as well as my own. Well I got a call from a Sandy that I do not know and she said she has been contemplating suicide for a few months and that she was close to taking her own life and she received those three words on her phone and it was the sign she needed from God! This story is so touching! It just goes to show that GOD’S NOT DEAD HE IS SURELY ALIVE!!! PLEASE SHARE THIS STORY SO IT MAY TOUCH THE LIFE OF SOMEONE IT WAS MEANT FOR! AMEN!

  87. Annelie says
    04 April 14, 8:00am

    Thank you Daniel for sharing that powerful awesome testimony!

    CFDb

  88. keolalani says
    05 April 14, 4:14pm

    Thank you for creating this opportunity to comment.

    I, too, enjoyed the movie … AND, have a couple observations that seem worth considering.

    First, and quite potent, the film – and even yourself it seems – to equate “believing in God” with Christianity. Yet alas, there are numerous other theologies that believe in a Creator (many even using the same “name”), that do not ascribe to Christianity.

    Now if there is “anything” that serves to perpetuate “division” in this arena, is that one theology believing it has the “cornerstone” – i.e., wholly, Holy Right Ear of that Essence that has been “named” yet in the beginning it is said replied to Moses when asking for one, said, “Why do you need to name me?”

    Alas, this points to a MUCH larger opportunity to experience the Grace of Creation than yes, “man-made” theologies (all except one created by men) that were principally designed to further ego/power (e.g., the Crusades, hanging & burning witches in Puritan New England et al, and present religious abuse/warring to this day be it Christian, Muslim, or Jew).

    For me, if we are to embrace the notion that “G.O.D.” (the Great Omnipotent/Omnipresent Divinity) is truly as it is said, “All-that-is-all” … “All that ever was, is and ever shall be” … then we can’t be “half-pregnant with that notion. IT either is or isn’t. And if it truly IS all that ever was, is and ever shall be … then it would seem that EVERYTHING is it … including this computer keyboard, “my” sofa, everything “I” see and don’t see, the present breath in “my” mouth, the next, etc. Indeed, in this understanding, this is actually IT right now having a conversation with ITSELF, is it not?

    Now in the realm of truly embracing and “being one” with G.O.D., it would seem that this level of immersion both eliminates the divisiveness of theologies, but also is the only way we actually get to “see” Divinity square in the face. Yes, it is looking back from one’s mirror. And at this place, when truly embraced, there are few words to say. Often “I” find tears of love arising simply at the thought of this inclusiveness.

    In this, I’m saddened to see a young Muslim woman portrayed as having to embrace Christianity in order to embrace G.O.D. – as if that Essence doesn’t exist under many names, “Allah” included. Too, that her loving father is portrayed as “barbaric” as if Christianity has the cornerstone on love and hasn’t had it’s own disgusting history of beatings, torture and genocide.

    Should perhaps leave it here with one last comment shared from a grand teacher beyond this realm … i.e, “Indeed entity, if the Essence that you call “God” were able to judge, it would be judging Itself and Life as you know it would cease to exist!”

  89. Annelie says
    06 April 14, 7:44am

    Jesus was specific that He is the Way, the Truth and the life. Although we aren’t the Judge, we have His Word for truth. Allah is not the same God, he is the moon god. Jesus was only considered a Prophet according to their teachings, not the Savior.

    CFDb

  90. Chaz says
    08 April 14, 12:47am

    This film was perfectly fine on the surface. The acting and direction were great for an essentially independent film.

    Unfortunately it was muddled by stereotyping every non-christian in as negative a way as possible, while simultaneously presenting terrible strawman arguments that some might call “moving.”

    I was disappointed honestly, I’d hoped for this to challenge my belief in a lack of God.

  91. Annelie says
    08 April 14, 9:16am

    Are you saying you don’t believe there is a God and you were hoping this film would change your mind? God is definitely a personal experience. He shows Himself in so many ways to each one of us, but normally we just aren’t paying attention. That was the fact in my case. Then one day I was just overwhelmed with an urgency to go to church. Hadn’t been to church since I was a very little girl. That day God revealed Himself to me personally – I knew Jesus died for my sins and I was overwhelmed with the guilt of my sins. (Nothing to do with the sermon at all). I went home and asked my mom how to give my life to Jesus. She found a tract and I went into my bedroom and gave my life to Jesus that night. Each experience is so different.

    The main way God reveals Himself to me now is through His Word. Fulfilled prophecies by Jesus are 100% impossible but yet He really did fulfill them all. There are some people that believe just based on the fulfilled prophecies.

    CFDb

  92. Tim says
    08 April 14, 9:35pm
  93. Annelie says
    09 April 14, 8:20am

    This is great news – thanks!

    CFDb

  94. Lori says
    11 April 14, 10:13am

    We are going to see the movie tonight (I am so excited!). I have a 9yo daughter that wants to go with us. She is very mature for her age but I’m not sure if it will be over her heard or not? My friends that have seen it seem to think that she will be fine. I know that it is rated PG. What do you think?

  95. Danniel says
    11 April 14, 11:46am

    Hello, I am waiting for the DVD, can you speculate a release date? Thank you!

  96. Annelie says
    11 April 14, 12:28pm

    Totally fine – she’s get something out of it, some may be over her head but shouldn’t be anything you couldn’t talk about afterwards too. Some of the creation information can be
    a bit overwhelming.

    CFDb

  97. Annelie says
    11 April 14, 12:28pm

    Not sure- still in the theaters – we recommend you see it.

    CFDb

  98. duanna thompson says
    17 April 14, 6:48pm

    Thank you so much for finally making a wonderful movie that worships instead of insults and degrades. I loved this movie and have been telling everyone I can about this movie and that they really need to see it. Please make more like this movie!!!!!!!!!!

  99. GB says
    19 April 14, 10:15pm

    God’s Not Dead!!!
    Excellent movie. Fitting topic for 2014. All adults and teens should see this movie.

  100. 23 April 14, 4:22pm

    […] God’s Not Dead – PureFlix, Releases 3/21/14 […]

  101. dina watkins says
    24 April 14, 4:18pm

    Gods not dead film -we felt is brilliant!
    Its funny -david white and minster particular scenes, well thought through, not cheesy, great messages weaved through without condescending ,well acted, brilliant scripts and timing.well done to all involved.
    Well presented student arguments with confidence.fantastic!

  102. Hannah says
    26 April 14, 8:06am

    We need this movie in the Philippines! :)

  103. Mari Riojas says
    27 April 14, 2:21pm

    When will this movie be on sale in stores?? I d like to buy it. It really was a great film.

  104. Mari Riojas says
    27 April 14, 2:23pm

    It was a great movie. I wish more young people who don t believe would see it.

  105. Annelie says
    27 April 14, 2:48pm

    Sorry we don’t have a release date yet for the DVD.

    CFDb

  106. Cheryl Manning says
    30 April 14, 10:52am

    Amazing story! Powerful information! So well done! Kevin Sorbo, it’s hard to believe that he is truly a Christian the way he made his character believable! Shane Harper showed us such courage playing Josh Wheaton. I sent an email to everyone on my contact list promoting my feelings about this film after seeing it, I never do that, that’s how much it affected me. I took my 14 year old granddaughter with me and she loved it so much that she wanted to go back to see it the next day! We’ll just buy the DVD. Thank you for a very special and much needed film/story.

  107. 01 May 14, 9:39am

    […] – God’s Not Dead – CFDb Movie Review – High Recommendation – Fantastic movie – This one made […]

  108. Letty says
    05 May 14, 5:50am

    Awesome, awesome movie! I sat in my car and cried, afterwards while I sent texts to my contacts. Is there a release date for the DVD, yet?

  109. Annelie says
    05 May 14, 7:18am

    No release date just yet.

    CFDb

  110. 15 May 14, 11:06pm

    Praise God for this Movie, please email me where I can buy a licensed copy so I have a free film showing and use this as evangelical tool in our church please please please.
    Praise God for the writers, directors, actors and everyone who made this movie!!!

  111. Annelie says
    16 May 14, 9:27am
  112. anila says
    19 May 14, 7:38pm

    Praise God for this movie!

  113. Christina says
    02 June 14, 5:43pm

    The release date for the DVD is August 5, 2014. :)

  114. Sarah says
    12 June 14, 6:13pm

    Bless you for making films that nourish the soul!! Cant wait for the DVD

  115. Blake says
    18 June 14, 8:59am

    I just watch this movie and I loved it. This is the best movie of the year and I hope more movie like this will be made in the future. A must see for everyone.

  116. 23 June 14, 2:48pm

    […] Rajam is, and persistent.  It reminds me of the visiting pastor from another Country in ‘God’s Not Dead‘, always thankful and trusting in God no matter the […]

  117. Xian Park says
    25 June 14, 9:06pm

    Does God’s notd Dead DVD contain Korean Sub Title? I hope it does~ I’m looking forward to watch it. Praise God!

  118. Annelie says
    26 June 14, 6:08am

    I think it’s just in English. You would have to ask the place you bought it from.

    CFDb

  119. 01 August 14, 5:41pm

    […] – God’s Not Dead – 3617 –  CFDb Movie […]

  120. Sandy says
    24 August 14, 3:55pm

    Praise God for this wonderful movie that lifts my spirit and demonstrates such hope. The world needs it as much as ever! Make more……. Thank you to all the actors, directors, film crew and sponsors for this incredible product.

  121. mol says
    31 August 14, 3:04pm

    the movie sucked

  122. 16 September 14, 7:00am

    […] – God’s Not Dead – CFDb Movie Review – High Recommendation – Fantastic movie – Don’t […]

  123. 16 September 14, 7:11am

    […] – God’s Not Dead – CFDb Movie Review – Fantastic movie coming out in theaters March 21, 2014 – […]

  124. 16 September 14, 7:14am

    […] – God’s Not Dead – This movie is getting a LOT of attention. Comes out in Theaters in March, 2014. 2096 views […]

  125. 10 October 14, 10:47pm

    My wife, daughter and 17 year old grandchildren watched “God Is Dead” and thoroughly enjoyed it. Some major points were however overlooked. John 14:6-No one joins God’s Church. You have to be called by God the Father who leads you to Christ. You can join any man made denominational church you wish but only God the Father can put you in His Church. That Church founded by Jesus Christ is thoroughly described in the New Testament along with everything they were to obey as well as Christ’s examples.

    The factual proofs that God exists can be found in the prophecies. Prophecies and historical archeological proofs that these prophecies have been fulfilled on time, every time in exact detail are the absolute proofs of God’s existence-II Peter 1:19-21. The Bible is the “only religious book” on the planet that challenges humanity to prove God through His fulfilled prophecies! No other religious book has ever dared to make that challenge.

    We have been Christians for 40 years and I have been a Bible scholar for almost as long.

    Thanks for your film, my family talked about it for several hours afterward. My grandchildren are about to attend college. Your film came at a crucial time in their life experience.

    We plan to purchase your student dvd and study guide. We feel it will better prepare them for their college challenge.

    Thanks again,

    The Mc Coy family.

Add a Comment


8 − = 3